Home NEWS by SERIES IndyCar INDY : 2011 Milwaukee - Franchitti hits milestone with IndyCar mile oval pole
INDY : 2011 Milwaukee - Franchitti hits milestone with IndyCar mile oval pole E-mail
Saturday, 18 June 2011 16:17
Article Index
INDY : 2011 Milwaukee - Franchitti hits milestone with IndyCar mile oval pole
INDY : 2011 Milwaukee - IZOD INDYCAR Series post qualifying driver quotes
Dario Franchitti's 25th Indy car pole, tying Paul Tracy for ninth all time, could be the most direct path to retrieving some of the points he lost to IZOD IndyCar Series leader Will Power in last week's Firestone Twin 275s.

Franchitti, who earned one point for the PEAK Performance Pole Award by topping the 26 driver field with an average speed of 170.841 mph on the Milwaukee Mile oval, is 20 points arrears of Power heading into the Milwaukee 225. Power, who topped the speed chart in the initial practice session June 17, will start a season low 17th in the #12 Verizon Team Penske car.

"I am glad to be back at the Milwaukee Mile and this is a great place to start from for tomorrow's race," said Franchitti, who won the first IZOD IndyCar Series race at the historic track in 2004 by charging from the seventh starting position.

"It is going to be a tough day because it is like a one lane track out there with the marbles on side and the black asphalt lane. I think the double file restarts will work well here at the Milwaukee Mile and the fans are in for a hell of a show."

Power's team-mate, Helio Castroneves, will join Franchitti on the front row (169.999 mph) in the #3 Guidepoint Systems entry.

Scott Dixon, who won the 2009 race from the second row, will be on the inside of Row 2 (169.582) in the #9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car.

The KV Racing Technology-Lotus group of Tony Kanaan, Takuma Sato and E.J. Viso made waves, they will start in that order fourth through sixth.

This is the seventh IZOD IndyCar Series event at the Milwaukee Mile, Scott Dixon won the race in 2009 while Helio Castroneves holds the single lap qualifying record with a lap of 21.1854 seconds, 172.477 mph set in July 2006.

Past winners Ryan Briscoe (2008), Scott Dixon (2009), Tony Kanaan (2006-2007) and Dario Franchitti (2004) are entered in the event. Ryan Hunter-Reay has also won at Milwaukee, winning the Champ Car sanctioned race in 2004.

Drivers will have 20 total pushes of the Honda overtake assist, an ECU software alteration employed by Honda Performance Development, each lasting 11 seconds during the Milwaukee 225.

It is activated by the driver via a button on the steering wheel and provides an extra 200 RPM (about 10 horsepower) to the Honda Indy V8 engine. Parameters are updated before each race weekend to meet the circuit layout.

There is a 10 second recovery period between pushes. One overtake assist push is available for the final practice session.

Each entry for the Milwaukee 225 receives nine sets (36 total) of Firestone Firehawks for the race weekend, based on the same tire used here in 2009 and was refined for use after a tire test in 2010 at New Hampshire.

Pos. Driver Car Speed
1. 10 Dario Franchitti Dallara-Honda 170.841
2. 3 Helio Castroneves Dallara-Honda 169.999
3. 9 Scott Dixon Dallara-Honda 169.582
4. 82 Tony Kanaan Dallara-Honda 169.365
5. 5 Takuma Sato Dallara-Honda 169.308
6. 59 EJ Viso Dallara-Honda 169.082
7. 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Dallara-Honda 169.014
8. 6 Ryan Briscoe Dallara-Honda 168.598
9. 26 Marco Andretti Dallara-Honda 168.456
10. 2 Oriol Servia Dallara-Honda 168.320
11. 24 Ana Beatriz Dallara-Honda 167.863
12. 38 Graham Rahal Dallara-Honda 167.674
13. 22 Justin Wilson Dallara-Honda 167.621
14. 19 Alex Lloyd Dallara-Honda 167.162
15. 7 Danica Patrick Dallara-Honda 166.779
16. 06 James Hinchcliffe Dallara-Honda 166.558
17. 12 Will Power Dallara-Honda 166.248
18. 4 JR Hildebrand Dallara-Honda 166.070
19. 77 Alex Tagliani Dallara-Honda 166.031
20. 27 Mike Conway Dallara-Honda 166.003
21. 83 Charlie Kimball Dallara-Honda 165.592
22. 14 Vitor Meira Dallara-Honda 165.375
23. 18 James Jakes Dallara-Honda 164.814
24. 34 Sebastian Saavedra Dallara-Honda 164.440
25. 67 Ed Carpenter Dallara-Honda 163.304
26. 78 Simona de Silvestro Dallara-Honda no speed

Informing those in the know who want to know even more
Dedicated to: Rudolf Ray +++ 14 April 2002 to 7 September 2007 +++
Stelios Avgerinos +++ 23 November 1931 to 4 February 2014 +++