Home NEWS by SERIES IndyCar IRL : IndyCar Series will not return to the Edmonton Airport circuit in 2011
IRL : IndyCar Series will not return to the Edmonton Airport circuit in 2011 E-mail
Wednesday, 03 November 2010 04:38
After three years of racing on a temporary City Centre Airport circuit, the IZOD IndyCar Series won't return to Edmonton, Alberta, in 2011.

IndyCar released the following statement regarding the cancellation of its Edmonton event:

"We are disappointed that the city and the promoter were unable to reach an agreement on the venue changes. It's unfortunate that in a time when IndyCar is experiencing momentum and growth, the city would want to miss out on the opportunity to be part of it. We've enjoyed our time at Edmonton as the fans there truly embraced Indy car racing."

"We currently are examining options for our schedule to see if there are opportunities to replace the event. As we move ahead into 2011, we are confident that our schedule will continue to produce the fastest and most versatile racing in the world, challenging both driver and team alike while providing exciting entertainment for fans."

Octane Motorsports Events Inc., which received approval through a City Council vote days before the July 25 race won by Scott Dixon to take over promotion of the event for three years, and the City of Edmonton could not come to an agreement by an October 29 deadline.

Octane sought to retain the original course, but the city closed Runway 16-34 a week after the Honda Indy Edmonton and moved air traffic to Runway 12-30, which was repaved prior to the IZOD IndyCar Series' initial visit.

Retaining the circuit would close the airport, primarily used for cargo, by the military and private pilots, during the three days of the event.

The sticking point is who would cover the financial obligation, projected at $3.2 million (Canadian), for repaving and site improvements on the closed runway and taxi roads at the airport a mile from the city's hub.
Informing those in the know who want to know even more
Dedicated to: Rudolf Ray +++ 14 April 2002 to 7 September 2007 +++
Stelios Avgerinos +++ 23 November 1931 to 4 February 2014 +++